themed image

US PGA Championship Golf Live Online



US PGA Championship Golf Live Online

The 98th US PGA Championship is being held this week at Baltusrol Golf Club in Springfield, New Jersey and the world's greatest golfers have converged hoping for one last shot at a major this season. The PGA Championship is the last of golf's four majors held each season. Much like golf's other majors, The Masters, The US Open Championship, and the British Open, the PGA Championship has a rich history that dates back to the early decades of the last century.

The PGA Championship was first held in 1916 at Siwanoy Country Club in Eastchester, NY. Surprisingly, the Championship is one of the younger majors. The British Open was first held in 1860 and the US Open in 1895. The tournament was the brainchild of Lewis Rodman Wanamaker whose name graces the winner's trophy to this day. Wanamaker, at the time one of America's wealthiest men, invited 35 prominent golfers and industry leaders to a luncheon in late January 1916. The meeting resulted in the formation of the Professional Golfers' Association of America. During the meeting Wanamaker suggested the need for the fledgling foundation to conduct an annual all professional golf tournament. Wanamaker himself put up the prize money, $2,500, and the winner's trophy. Seven months later the first Championship took place.

The PGA Championship has undergone some changes in its structure since its founding. From 1916 to 1957 the tournament was held as a match play event. In 1958 however the tournament was changed from match play to stroke play. Jim Barnes won the first ever PGA Championship in 1916, collecting $500 for his efforts. 2008's winner, Padraig Harrington took home a tidy sum of $1.5 million. Walter Hagen and Jack Nicklaus share the lead for most victories at the Championship with five each. Interestingly enough, they each achieved their record mark in different eras. Hagen won all five of his titles in the 1920s during the match play era. Hagen was victorious in 1921, 1924, 1925, 1926, and 1927. Nicklaus on the other hand won his five titles in the stroke play era. As impressive as Hagen's feat of five titles in one decade, including four straight, Nicklaus accomplished a rare feat as well. Nicklaus won the Championship at least once in three different decades. His first title was in 1963, followed by wins in 1971, 1973, 1975, and 1980.

Initially the PGA Championship was held by many different venues, but in the past few decades has settled into a rotation of a select few country clubs across the nation. Prior to the 1960s the PGA Championship was held in mid-July, usually one week after the British Open. Now however, it is consistently held in mid-August, roughly four weeks after the British Open.

The PGA Championship remains, to this day, a tournament conducted by the PGA of America as part of the PGA Tour. It is the only major that does not invite the top amateurs each year, instead reserving 20 of its 156 spots for club and teaching professionals. The 20 players chosen each year are the top finishers from the Club Pro Championship, held each June. The Championship has a history of providing upsets and as such you tend to get some of the best odds for any major!

Being the final major of the season the US PGA Championship commands huge TV audiences world wide, all interested in watching the action live. Please click here see a current sporting schedule, during the US PGA Championship details of what is showing on which channel and on what software should be here.

View The US PGA Championship Live Leaderboard

PGA Championship - Live Tournament Odds


Latest US PGA Championship News

Molinari's tweet prompted Tour's new slow play penalties (Aug 20, 2019 12:19)
Edoardo Molinari identifying slow players on Twitter led to the European Tour's measures to speed...

World Invitational: Stephanie Meadow is back on track following gutsy win (Aug 19, 2019 06:12)
Stephanie Meadow's World Invitational triumph shows she has the temperament to go from strength t...

Thomas wins BMW title by three shots as Woods misses Tour finale (Aug 18, 2019 22:53)
American Justin Thomas wins the BMW Championship at Medinah as Tiger Woods fails to qualify for t...

Czech Masters: Thomas Pieters wins first title in three years (Aug 18, 2019 17:32)
Belgium's Thomas Pieters wins his first title in three years with a one-shot victory at the Czech...

Paul Lawrie wins Scottish Senior Open at Craigielaw (Aug 18, 2019 17:26)
Former Open Champion Paul Lawrie posts a final round 71 to win the Scottish Senior Open by two sh...

Copyright © 2019 football247.im, all rights reserved. - We Don't Embed Video Or Direct Link To Streams